SUMMER TRAVEL, COVID FREE?

Michael L. Hauser
2 min readJul 13, 2021

Today I’m getting tested for Covid.

I recently came back from an epic trip to New England. Visiting family and friends I haven’t seen in 2 years. From Rhode Island to Block Island, to Martha’s Vineyard and back to Rhode Island, lots of people, places and things to mingle with.

Traveling from Palm Springs, my husband and I had to stay the night at a hotel by LAX because there are no direct flights to Rhode Island from Palm Springs. We picked up a one way rental car and drove to LAX.

All public forms of transportation require face masks, and we adhered to the rules. But along the way, in hotels, restaurants, bars, grocery stores and coffee shops, we went maskless, just like most people around us. Both having our vaccines we felt safe to mingle amongst humanity. Even the ones coughing a few feet away could not deter our promise of a healthy trip.

When engaged with a close talker, I’d move back. When someone laughed hard in my direction, I’d turn my face. I’d make behavioral moves based on the humans and around me. Simple safety precautions I’ve given myself to live among those who have been vaccinated and those who have not. How does one know?

What’s baffling to me is, why a person would choose not to get the vaccine? I mean, if they’re born in America, and have gone through years of living here…

--

--

Michael L. Hauser

Executive Producer / Director / memoirist / writer / gay husband / bird watcher and star gazer